Revamp Article

23.10.2010 Revamp

Metal Female Voices Fest VIII

Oktoberhallen Wieze (Belgium)

(Pentax k-x with Tamron SP AF 17-50mm 2.8 XR Di II LD Asp IF and Sigma AF 50-150mm 2.8 EX DC APO HSM II)

The first of the two headliners: Floor Jansen's new band Revamp. On last year's Metal Female Voices Fest announced and from Phil directly taken into the bill although nothing was existing to that time except the name of the band. After I took a listen whilst driving to Wieze to her current album "Revamp" I was extremely looking forward to the gig.
I should not be disappointed. They played the whole album. In that there were several highlights. You could really feel that this gig was something very special for Floor and the guys. Directly from the start the audience went with them and also the interaction of Floor with them played a part in contributing to it.
During the program there was as first highlight a duet with Epica front woman Simone Simons at "Sweet Curse". Two very special voices together on one stage just like the year before where Floor was singing a duet with Simone during the Epica show. The next highlight was first "I Lost Myself". Therefore the stage was cleared and a grand piano was brought onto it. Only Floor and Ruben Wijga on the huge stage at this emotional ballad (Ruben played the grand piano as according to Floor's remark her playing the piano is not very good otherwise she would have done it on her own). Directly afterwards the audience could enjoy the operatic aria "O Mio Babbino Caro" of Giacomo Puccini from the opera Gianni Schicchi. Supplemented the show was by the After Forever song "Energize Me".
The gig really had everything you could want. Great vocals, great band, great atmosphere at the audience. Somehow a pity that after 70 minutes it was already over. The only fly in the ointment, if you wanted to search for one, was the stupid idea to completely flood the stage with fog so that the band could nearly not be seen.


  • Here's My Hell
  • All Goodbyes Are Said
  • Fast Forward
  • Break
  • Million
  • Kill Me With Silence
  • Sweet Curse
  • Energize Me
  • Under My Skin
  • I Lost Myself
  • O Mio Babbino Caro
  • Disdain
  • The Trial Of Monsters
  • No Honey For The Damned
  • Disgraced
  • Head Up High