Select your language

Sonata Arctica Article

03.08.2013 Sonata Arctica

Wacken Open Air XXIV

Wacken (Germany)

(Pentax K-5 with Sigma AF 70-200mm 2.8 EX DC APO HSM II)

In front of the Party Stage it was slowly getting crowded and just in time the guys of the Finnish power metal band Sonata Arctica entered the stage. You could directly from the start see that they were really up for it. Toni Kakko swirled across the stage and used his microphone stand as air guitar and also drummer Tommy Portimo was grinning from ear to ear all the time.
The main part of their show was formed by the last album "Stones Grow Her Name" from which not only at the beginning "Only The Broken Hearts" and "Shitload Of Money" was played but also three more songs. Again and again the eyes turned up to heaven as it was clouding up more and more and during "The Last Amazing Grays" finally the heaven opened its doors.
Surprisingly not many were fleeing of this downpour but instead they continued partying undeterred. Also the guys on stage were not fully spared and so Tony had to dry himself several times. Quite fast they were progressing hand over hand through the songs (they did not pay much attention to announcements) but which was not taken offense at them. The atmosphere was terrific in front of the stage although the ground became more and more a huge puddle of mud (Wacken 2012 was saying hello). Painless they were pulling their good set through until it came to an end by "Don't Say A Word".
Although I wore the cape I was completely soaking wet on one side (the water was literally standing inside my shoes). Anyhow the mood was not dampened by the weather and overall it was a great show of the Finns.


  • Intro (Wildfire, Part: III - Wildfire Town, Population: 0)
  • Only The Broken Hearts (Make You Beautiful)
  • Black Sheep
  • Shitload Of Money
  • Losing My Insanity
  • The Last Amazing Grays
  • I Have A Right
  • Replica
  • FullMoon
  • Cinderblox
  • Don't Say A Word (with Vodka outro)






Further Concert Articles