Finnland - Denmark Article

08.05.2010 Preliminary Round Group D: Finnland - Denmark 1:4

Icehockey WC 2010 at Germany

Lanxess Arena, Cologne (Germany)

(Pentax k-x with Tamron SP AF 17-50mm 2.8 XR Di II LD Asp IF and Sigma AF 50-150mm 2.8 EX DC APO HSM II)

The only game at the Cologne Lanxess-Arena on Saturday evening was played by Finnland and Denmark. Actually this should have been an easy warm-up for the Finns in front of the game against the Germans but unfortunately (or fortunately) the Danes were not of the same opinion. And so Pekka Rinne seemed to think that he was in the wrong film when first Frans Nielsen in minute 3 scored the 1:0 lead and Peter Regin in minute 6 increased to 2:0.
The Finnish team completely out of sorts needed a timeout after that which had a positive influence. Because already in minute 7 it was Petri Kontiola scoring one after. More and more the Finns took over the game and were massively supported by the Danish. They took too many penalties especially two in minute 15 due to delaying the game. But none of the power plays could be used by the Finns and so both teams went with a 1:2 into the first break.
After that the Finns seemed to have remained in the cabin mentally because already in minute 22 it was Johan Jakobsen to extend the lead of the Danes to 1:3. Obviously impressed by that the Finns tried to fight against the upcoming defeat. So it went up and down on the ice but nothing countable was the result of that.
Also in the last period nothing changed and so in minute the Finnish headcoach Jukka Jalonnen took out Pekka Rinne for having a 6th field player on the ice. But not the Finns instead of that the Danes had the next opportunity and Frans Nielsen said thank you by scoring the 1:4 empty net goal.
By that only 24 hours after the sensational victory of the Germans against the US Americans the second sensation was perfectly made and the Danes the first leader of division D in front of the German national team.


Finnland - Denmark 1:4 (1:2 / 0:1 / 0:1)

02:20 / 0:1 / Frans Nielsen

05:19 / 0:2 / Peter Regin

06:47 / 1:2 / Petri Kontiola

21:19 / 1:3 / Johan Jakobsen

:13 / 1:4 / Frans Nielsen